Book Review: A Million Worlds With You (Firebird #3) – Claudia Gray

BOOK REVIEW.png

Title: A Million World With You (Firebird #3)
Author: Claudia Gray
Genre: Science Fiction
Published: November 1st, 2016
Rating: 4.5/5

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Synopsis

A million universes. A million dangers. One destiny.

The fate of the multiverse rests in Marguerite Caine’s hands. Marguerite has been at the center of a cross-dimensional feud since she first traveled to another universe using her parents’ invention, the Firebird. Only now has she learned the true plans of the evil Triad Corporation—and that those plans could spell doom for dozens or hundreds of universes, each facing total annihilation.

Paul Markov has always been at Marguerite’s side, but Triad’s last attack has left him a changed man—angry and shadowed by tragedy. He struggles to overcome the damage done to him, but despite Marguerite’s efforts to help, Paul may never be the same again.

So it’s up to Marguerite alone to stop the destruction of the multiverse. Billions of lives are at stake. The risks have never been higher. And Triad has unleashed its ultimate weapon: another dimension’s Marguerite—wicked, psychologically twisted, and always one step ahead.

In the epic conclusion to Claudia Gray’s Firebird trilogy, fate and family will be questioned, loves will be won and lost, and the multiverse will be forever changed. It’s a battle of the Marguerites . . . and only one can win. 

Review

I went to New York for a short holiday and I went to a bookstore. I was browsing around the store when I saw a familiar cover; it looks extremely like the cover of the book I’ve been waiting for. When I read the title and realized that it is the book, I remember I had the urge to jump around and shout. But I did the normal thing where I ask someone to help me pick the book because I couldn’t reach it.

I FINALLY GOT MY HAND ON A MILLION WORLDS WITH YOU BY CLAUDIA GRAY. I’ve been wanting this since the end of the previous book because I didn’t know that it was going to be a trilogy. So the cliffhanger at the end of the second book was a surprise and all I wanted was to find out what happened next. Now, I know.

The book begins with Marguerite and Paul trying to save the world; every single universe they have visited and also the ones they haven’t. The main storyline here is how all the parallel universe joined forces to stop Conley from destroying the universes. In the last book, we got to meet the evil Marguerite, who she called ‘Wicked’ for a short while and in this book, she played a big part in trying to sabotage the universes. I don’t think I can explain the storyline very well here without giving anything away because it’s all very complicated though if you read the book it all makes perfect sense.

In this book, we are introduced to new parallel universe, but we also got to visit the previous universes. It was nice to see how everyone seems to get their closure in almost all the universes we’ve seen before.

In the romance portion of the book, Paul went through a “you’re better off without me” phase and I couldn’t help but feel a little sorry for both of them. For Marguerite because Paul couldn’t see how much she loves him and for Paul because his thoughts and emotions were all over the place after being splintered.

In terms of romance, the love triangle in this book is very interesting. If you don’t like love triangles, then I’m not sure if you’d like the romance part of the story. It’s hard because different Marguerite in different universe ended up with either guy.It is not the whole focus of the story though so if you want to read this for the science and imagination, no worries!

I have to admit that I’m not a very science-y person, so the science part of the book can get pretty confusing for me. But it doesn’t take away the fact that Claudia Gray is an amazing storyteller. Her description of each universe is so vivid and you’ll get a clear image of them right away.

The traveling between the universes could be pretty confusing. Claudia did a good job trying to keep us on track but I still found myself sometimes going back and forth between pages. The pace is exhilarating! I think the urgency of saving the world makes the characters have to move quick. Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t rushed at all. But you can definitely feel the urgent pace of the story while reading it and it makes the reading experience better for me.

The part that I wasn’t very sure about this book was the villains. In my mind, they felt a little weak to be villains. I don’t think I can explain it without giving you major spoiler, so if you read the book, you’ll know what I mean.

What I discussed next contains minor spoiler so please skip it if you don’t want to read them! 

My favourite part of the book is, as Theo called it, the Conclave of the Marguerites. This was a brilliant moment in the book. We got to see all six Marguerites from six universes; The Berkeleyverse, The Russiaverse, The Mafiaverse, The Triadverse, The Cambridgeverse, and The Oceanverse. (And they had their meeting in The Cloneverse – I know that’s a lot of universe!). This meeting is the most epic, most romantic, and funniest thing ever in the book.

Other than the protests from other Marguerites, my favourite part was when Paul walked in to the room and found six Marguerites on the table.

“I know, little brother,” Theo says with a wry grin, leaning against the wall with his arms crossed. “I had this dream too.”

Theo having a little flirty moment with Marguerite from Warverse made me smile (even though I’m a big Paul-Marguerite shipper)

“You’re from the Oceanverse” Paul points to the correct Marguerite, which surprises me. “And you’re from Cambridge–from the war–” His gray eyes light on me, and he draws in a deep breath”–and you’re mine”.

Let me fangirl for a moment here because when I read that last line, I was so giddy and pretty sure my heart beat a little faster even though I am not Marguerite.

She clutches Paul’s hand tighter and holds it to her heart. “I will love you until the end of my days.” Paul pulls her close again and kiss her.

That closure between the Grand Duchess and Paul though. SOBBED. It was the sweetest thing ever. The Russiaverse is my favourite universe and to see the Grand Duchess got a chance for closure even though it wasn’t with her own Paul, but still!

My favourite universe in the book would be the Moscowverse. Marguerite was deaf and she was married to Paul. More surprise? They had a daughter together. Everything in this universe was just so sweet. Especially the relationship between the two. It’s nice to see that they had the chance to be a happy couple in another universe and I guess it showed Marguerite and especially Paul that they had the chance to be happy together.

– End of spoiler – 

This book was a perfect finale for the series! I’m way more obsessed with this series than I was before I read this last book. It’s sad to say goodbye to these characters and their universes, but it was a perfect ending to the series. Thank you Claudia Gray for writing this complex and breathtaking story!

xo,

Naths

Leave a comment