The Ghost of You and Me Kelly Oram Book Review.png

The Ghost of You and Me – Kelly Oram | BOOK REVIEW

Title: The Ghost of You and Me  
Author: Kelly Oram  
Publications: June 20th 2017 

The Ghost of You and Me Kelly Oram book review

Synopsis

How do you tell someone who hates you and blames you for the death of his best friend that you miss him? 

From the bestselling teen and young adult author of Cinder & Ella comes a new heart-wrenching romance sure to bring all the feels. 

The tragic death of Spencer Schott unravels the lives of the two people he loved most—his girlfriend, Bailey, and his best friend, Wes. Secrets and guilt from that fateful night keep both Bailey and Wes from overcoming Spencer’s loss and moving on with their lives. 

Now, nearly a year later, both Bailey and Wes are still so broken over what happened that Spencer can’t find peace in the afterlife. In order to put his soul to rest, he’s given one chance to come back and set things right…even if that means setting up his girlfriend with his best friend. 

With the emotional resonance of Jellicoe Road and the magical realism of The Lovely Bones, The Ghost of You and Me is a story about overcoming grief, finding redemption for past mistakes, and the healing power of friendship and love. Fans of John Green, Sarah Dessen, and Nicholas Sparks are sure to love this haunting new tale from Kelly Oram. 

This is a clean young adult romance stand alone novel that reads like contemporary drama romance and has just a touch of magical realism.

Read More »

Advertisements
bookish discussion

Goodreads: A Bookish Habit

Spoiler: I’m a horrible Goodreads user

Oh, the ol’ good Goodreads. When I first discovered Goodreads, I felt like I was walking into a utopia. As a book lover, no other website is as exciting as GR. You can find ANY books of ANY genres in this one place on the Internet. I remember thinking ‘This is why the Internet is a magical place‘. 

Goodreads makes it really easy for us to find books and it provides us with all these features that, supposedly, will help us tracking and organizing our readings. 

Read More »

Me and Milo the Great – Michelle Schlicher (ARC) | BOOK REVIEW

Title: Me and Milo the Great 
Author: Michelle Schlicher 
Expected Publications: September 14th 2017 

me and milo the great michelle schlicher

Synopsis

My name is Holiday Sanchez. I carry a heavy burden.

But I’m not the only one.

There are others who know what it feels like to remember. Maybe they are the answer. Maybe we can help each other. Maybe I’ll finally get past it.

Maybe it just takes time—and a little bit of magic.

Read More »

How Do I Survive Morning Commute? Podcasts.

strong opinions loosely held, how i built this, podcasts

Sometimes, I wonder how I survived my morning and evening commute all this time because now those moments are reserved for podcast. I can’t stop listening to them!

Not only during commute, I also listen to them in the office while I’m working, in the bath, and sometimes at night. Basically, I play them whenever I have a little time for myself. Podcast is definitely a great way to discover stories, learn, or even just to have some giggle.  It’s undeniably the hottest media at the moment with more and more podcast companies raising money. Long story short; podcast is here to stay.

If you’ve yet to discover the amazing world of podcasts, I hope the shows I’m going to mention in this post can catch your attention and lead you right into the new world. Headphones at the ready, guys!

Read More »

taming chloe summers anna katmore book review young adult

Taming Chloe Summers – Anna Katmore | BOOK REVIEW

Title: Taming Chloe Summers
Author: Anna Katmore
Release date: June 21st, 2016

taming chloe summer anna katmore.jpg

Synopsis

CHLOE:

Camp sucks.

I should be on a plane to London, heading into an epic second year of college. Instead, I’m stuck on Frog Pond Mountain, tasked with supervising a horde of pubescent teens, all because I had some minor run-ins with the law.

But I came here with a plan: next weekend, I’m escaping from the boondocks and swindling my way back into civilization.

Unfortunately, my brilliant plan B couldn’t foresee one tiny detail: Justin Andrews, alpha to the wolves and drool-worthy ghost from my past…

JUSTIN:

I can’t believe Chloe Summers is going to be my co-counselor at camp this year. We haven’t talked in years, and we wouldn’t for the rest of our lives if I had anything to do with it.

But I can’t get out of this summer job. Since I’m stuck with her for the next few weeks, I might as well use the time to get back at her for what she did all those years ago. I mean, camp is supposed to be fun, right? And this could be fun indeed.

But what if a harmless game unexpectedly turns into something more serious?

Read More »

bookish discussion

Reading More Than One Book at Once | BOOKISH

What? Why? Who reads more than one book at once? *raises hand*

Admit it, we’ve all been there. The concept of reading more than one book at a time was a very bizarre thing to understand for me. I used to be someone who only reads one book at a time and will not start reading another book until I finish it. Oh, how time has changed.

For the last couple of years, I’ve found myself stop reading certain books and pick another one up along the way, before continuing the previous book. I don’t know what triggered the change, but it works for me. I had the idea to write this post as I found myself doing it even more often; even right now, I’m in between two out of the three books I recently bought.

So… you might be wondering, WHY DO YOU DO THAT?

Read More »

acowar review book sarah j maas

A Court of Wings and Ruin – Sarah J Maas | BOOK REVIEW

A Court of Wings and Ruin? More like A Court of Feels and Even More Feels

Title: A Court of Wings and Ruin 
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Published: May 2nd, 2017

a court of wings and ruin review acowar

Synopsis

A nightmare, I’d told Tamlin. I was the nightmare.

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit—and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well. As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords—and hunt for allies in unexpected places.

Read More »