First Impression: Shadowhunters

 

9b0dbeac-91a8-4464-9079-861f2891cf50

The Mortal Instruments is one of my favourite young adult series so when it was adapted into movies, I was beyond excited. However, the film wasn’t up to my expectations. Then last year, I heard that they are going to adapt the series into TV shows. I don’t want to have high expectations of the TV show because I don’t want to be disappointed. But then I realised that with TV shows, they can explore more of the books. Every little thing can be explained in details because they don’t have to squeeze everything in two hours duration. My hope for the TV show is that they can stick to the book and just not make a worse version of the film.

Today, I finally caught up with the show and watched the first four episodes. To be fair, my memory of the book is quite rusty (Note to self: Re-read the series). But watching it helped me remember the storyline and the little details. There are a few things that caught my attention while watching it.

  • Isabelle and Alec are very different from what I remember. I thought Isabelle would be much much more aloof and cold towards Clary. On the other hand, Alec is much colder than the book version of Alec (or at least how I imagined Alec is).
  • I don’t like how Alec complains every two seconds in the show about Clary and telling Jace that he doesn’t trust her. He needs to chill.
  • Simon is brilliant! For the first three episodes, he saves the show. Alberto Rosende is an amazing actor.
  • The moment Magnus Bane appears is the most magical. His lines are great and Harry Shum Jr. portrays him well. I laughed a lot at MALEC moments (I NEED MORE!!!). I’m so excited to see more of them.
  • Another thing is how fast-paced the show is. Why is there no rat-Simon? That would be interesting to see actually.

Overall, I enjoy the first four episodes. I think it improves episode-by-episode and I’m looking forward to see the next episode. Hopefully, it keeps improving and doesn’t become disappointing.

Leave a Reply

